Five Haiku for Violin and cello

Five Haiku for Violin and Cello , commissioned by Nivak Ensemble and has been dedicated to them, Each Haiku is inspired and based on a Japanese Haiku.

Nivak Ensemble

Golriz Zarbakhsh (Violin)

Zhabiz Zarbakhsh (Cello)

Live performance , Roudaki hall , Tehran December 2016

Haiku duets was performed also in the  eighth New Music Miami Festival (NMMF)  in a concert  featuring the Pakk Calloway Violin and Cello Duo. The piece selected from an international call for scores. 3 April 2019  Miami Beach, Betsy hotel.


Awards: First prize of Kokonainen-Musequal composition competition, Finland, February 2021

Minna Pensola, Violin

Markus Hoheit, Cello

First prize of Kokonainen-Musequal composition competition, Finland, February 2021

Ensemble Nivak

Golriz Zarbakhsh (Violin)

Zhabiz Zarbakhsh (Cello)

Tehran, Second Tehran contemporary music festival - Roudaki hall - 2018

It was in the mid-spring 2016 when “Hundred Haikus” joined him, a book with a blue cover. All poems had a structural connection with nature, each one drew a picture and was full of movement and mystery. Hundred concise images representing the complete cycle of seasons… In spring a mysterious spirit was pushing him, whispering constantly “You must betray all locations” 

He had to avoid stability , he had to escape continuously and he was obliged to avoid the roots. 

Meanwhile Haikus were transformed to sound during long times of observation. 

As long as a whole cycle of seasons in which he was writing down the sound rapidly on the paper within a  couple of hours each. 

When finally he could write on the last page of the score:  “Wandering through Rome, Dolomites, Tehran, Vienna, Salzburg, Wolfgangsee and Roman Castles from spring 2016 to January 5th. 2017…

Time passed and from the distance the only interpretation of that denial of the roots seems to be a torturous research of identity.


 While the spring rain drizzled the spirit of the stone had flown out

(Murakami Kijo)


 During the high noon of summer, death was spying. Half closed eyes.

(Iida Dakotsu)


 Enveloped by afternoon sleepiness I hear the beating and retorting of a pin.

(Yamaguchi Seishi)


Wind hisses 

through the treetops

the music of Koto 

reaches the sky

(Kaya Shirao)


She, who comes to my dream

my mother

you turn her away again

the Cuckoo of desolation ?

(Takarai Kikaku)


English translation : Corinna Lenneis


Nella pioggerella primaverile

di certo, è uscito

lo spritello della pietra

(Murakami Kijo)



Mezzodì di piena estate;

la morte ci spia,

gli occhi socchiusi

(Iida Dakotsu)


Nel sopore della siesta, odo

battere e ribattere

un chiodo

(Yamaguchi Seishi)


Sibila il vento

tra le fronde degli alberi

la musica del Koto

raggiunge il cielo

(Kaya Shirao)


Colei che viene in sogno &

mia madre,

tu riallontani,

hototogisu della malora?

(Takarai Kikaku)


Italian translation Irene Iarocci (cento Haiku-Guanda)




درنم نم باران بھاری

بی شک روح سنگ

   بیرون می شود

   (موراکامی کیجو)


،نیم روز تابستان

مرگ کمین کرده است

 ...چشمان نیمھ باز

   (اییدا داکوتسو)


در خواب آلودگی چرت عصرگاھی، می شنوم

کوبیدن و باز کوبیدن

بر یک میخ

 (یاماگوشی سیشی)


باد زوزه می کشد در میان برگهای درختان

،موسیقی کوتو

.تا آسمان می رسد

 (کایا شیرائو)


به رویا که میآید


باز او را دور می کنی

کوکوی ویرانی؟

 (تاکارای کیکاکو)


ترجمه فارسی  فانوس بهادروند

Released in 2019, by Mahoor Institute of Culture and Arts